Geography and Demographics


Ireland lies of the coast of the North West of Europe.

Geographic Co-ordinates : 53 00 N, 8 00 W

Area : 84,412 sq km (32,591 sq miles)

Coastline : 3,700 km (2,300 sq miles)

Population : 4,109,086 (ROI) 1,872,362 (N.I.)

Currency: Euro (ROI).   Sterling (N.I.)

Highest point : Carrauntoohil, County Kerry, 3,414 ft (1,041mt)

Climate : Temperate ocean climate; mild winters and cool summers; high precipitation and mainly overcast.

Religions : Roman Catholic 73 %, balance mainly Protestant (mostly located in Northern Ireland).

Geographic regions :  The island of Ireland is divided into four provinces, Leinster, Munster, Connaught and Ulster, which in total constitute 32 counties.

Connacht : Connacht is located in the West of Ireland and covers a total area of 17,713 square kilometres. It encompasses 5 counties: GalwayLeitrimMayoRoscommonSligo.

Leinster : Leinster is a region in the East of Ireland which has a land area of 19,774 square kilometres. It has 12 counties, more than any other province. These are CarlowDublinKildareKilkennyLaoisLongfordLouthMeathOffalyWestmeath,WexfordWicklow.

Munster : Munster is the province of the South of Ireland and covers 24,607 square kilometres. There are 6 counties in Munster:ClareCorkLimerickKerryTipperaryWaterford.

Ulster : Ulster is located in the North of Ireland and covers 24,481 square kilometres. It encompasses 9 counties (three of which are part of the Republic of Ireland): AntrimArmaghCavanDerryDonegalDownFermanaghMonaghanTyrone.